Breakfast, Sides, Vegetables

Thyme Potato & Leek Hash Browns

I added sautéed leeks on the fly to hash browns.  AWESOME!!! I made them in the oven (400 for 40 minutes) because I was making them for a brunch party, but I don’t recommend it–they don’t really come out crunchy on both sides.  Pan-frying will most likely be better for a crunchy exterior.

  • 5-6 potatoes, peeled and grated
  • 2 leeks, chopped and washed
  • fresh thyme leaves from 2-3 sprigs
  • butter, for saute-ing
  • canola oil, for frying
  • salt & pepper

Grate your potatoes and soak them for 30 minutes in the fridge in a bowl of cold water plus 1 tbsp sugar. Drain and dry them off well.

Saute the leeks in butter until soft.  Remove from the heat and toss with thyme, salt/pepper, and potatoes. I ran out of black pepper so I used white pepper instead.

Pan fry in oil or oven bake in a greased pan at ~400 for 30-45 minutes, depending on how much you’ve made.  I greased a casserole dish, threw in the mix, and covered it with a little bit of salt, white pepper, and melted butter.  I baked it for 40 minutes, it was crunchy on the bottom but not the top–I suppose I could have flipped it, but….meh, it was still delicious!! Next time I will definitely pan fry them or make them into potato pancakes to facilitate flipping.

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Thyme Potato & Leek Hash Browns

Leave a Reply

