Parties, Petit Bites, Sides, Vegetables

Onion-Tomato Dijon Tartlets

When we were in Thailand I saw this recipe on TV.  It was a special on Rustic Foods of Burgundy and I tried to memorize it  so that one day, I too could make it.  But since my mom got me mini tart dishes for Xmas, I am going to make tartlets!

Ingredients:

  • Dijon mustard
  • egg white
  • 1 thinly sliced Onion
  • 1 sliced Tomato
  • Herbs: thyme/oregano
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan Cheese or any other hard cheese
  • 2 tbsp breadcrumbs (if your filling is very juicy, if not, omit)
  • Pie Crust
  • butter
  • salt

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 F.
  2. Line tartlets with pie crust and freeze for 20 minutes.
  3. Sauté onions and tomato in butter, add salt and thyme.
  4. Beat egg white with a dash of salt until frothy.  Beat in 2 tsp dijon mustard.
  5. Brush the pie crusts with egg-dijon mix and bake for 6 minutes.
  6. In a bowl, mix cheese, bread crumbs, oregano, and fresh ground black pepper.
  7. Remove the tartlets from the oven and spoon in the warm onion-tomato sauté.  Top with the cheese mix.
  8. Return to oven, turn the heat down to 350, and bake for about 20-25 minutes.  Until the tart is bubbling and the crust is brown. I took one out to test it: I moved aside the filling and tasted the bottom crust.  If it tastes done, it’s done.
  9. Cool for 5 minutes.  Serve hot.

Notes:  I didn’t use enough dijon.  In the future I’ll spread a layer of dijon mustard  on the bottom when the tarlet shells come out of the oven, before adding the filling. I also used the wrong grind of parmesan cheese on top–which made the tart taste like pasta sauce.  In the future I will use shredded parmesan cheese and also use less of it.

You can serve this with roasted Chicken and Potato Gratin, and of course, Burgundy red wine 🙂

In the end, this was a huge effort.  It would have been easier to make one large savory tart or galette.

Standard

Leave a Reply

