diet dishes, Soups & Stews

Butternut Squash Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cooked butternut squash (you can use and uncooked one, but I happened to have half of a cooked one in my freezer)
  • 1/2 chopped onion
  • 1 chopped potato
  • chicken broth/veggie broth/water
  • salt and pepper
  • butter

Method:

  1. Saute the onions in butter until translucent.
  2. Add broth, squash, potato, carrot, and celery seed.  Simmer for 10-15 minutes or forever, until all the veggies are soft. Add more water/broth if needed.
  3. Blend with a hand blender.
  4. Garnish with scallion, salt/pepper, yogurt, etc. Serve.

I didn’t have chicken broth so instead I added water and a pinch of turmeric, celery seed, dill, garlic powder, coriander, ground ginger, a bay leaf, thyme, and cayenne pepper.  It turned out much better than I had expected.  I was also surprised because when I tasted it out of the pot it tasted bland, but when I ate it in the bowl it was DELISH!  maybe it was the scallions and salt & pepper?

Standard

Leave a Reply

