breads & muffins, Petit Bites, Vegetables

Stuffed Bread Loaf/Stromboli

I basically want a bread loaf that has filling in it! I know that I should use pizza dough, but I want to use up the bread dough that I make last night (basic bread rolls NYT Cookbook 1961).  And since I’m broke-ish, I don’t want to buy any new ingredients.

Here’s what I have on hand:

  • bread dough
  • jack cheese
  • tomato paste
  • spicy peppers
  • leeks
  • potatoes
  • fresh mint and green onion
  • tomatoes
  • walnuts
  • feta cheese
  • raisins & frozen blueberries (ok, maybe  I won’t use these)

Possibilities:

  • mint, walnut, feta
  • chopped tomato, spicy pepper, onion, jack cheese,
  • sauteed leeks, diced (cooked) potatoes, jack cheese, with a pinch of celery seed

Since I have only enough dough for one loaf, I can only make one filling 😦

Filling:

Saute  in 1 tbsp of butter and 1 tbsp of oil: 1/2 sliced onion, 1 sliced leek, 1 diced tomato, 1/4 diced spicy pepper.  Add salt to taste.

Serve with tomato sauce on the side:

Heat 2 tbsp of olive oil and 2 tbsp tomato paste in a skillet.  Saute for a minute.  Add garlic powder, salt, paprika, oregano, and pepper to taste.  Dilute with water, stirring with a wire whisk constantly.

How to shape the dough:

  1. Roll into a rectangle 1/4 inch thick or 12 X 15 inches large.
  2. Spread the filling in the center of the rectangle. Leave a 1″ border on all sides.  Top the filling with shredded jack cheese.
  3. Brush one long side of the rectangle with egg wash ( a tbsp of water with a beaten egg).  From the un-eggwashed side, roll up into a tight cylinder like a jellyroll.  Pinch the ends. Transfer to an oiled cookie sheet seam side down.  Cover, and let rise for 30-40 minutes.
  4. (sorry, I know my cookie sheet is dirty) Brush the roll with egg wash.
  5. Bake in a 400 F oven for 25-30 minutes until done.

This was SO GOOD!  I was even surprised 🙂

It started out as a civilized meal but then….

and eventually, it devolved into a plate graveyard.

Standard

One thought on “Stuffed Bread Loaf/Stromboli

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review–I can’t believe it’s been one year! | Nassy [Food] Blog

Leave a Reply

