diet dishes, Mains, Petit Bites, Poultry, Salads

Buffalo Chicken Salad, low cal style!

I LOVE Buffalo wings to death!  But they are SO messy and they never come with enough veggies (plus I hate carrots, why are there always more carrots than celery?).  I’ve often dreamed of the day when buffalo wings could be made into a salad, and I don’t mean topping a ranch salad with buffalo coated chicken fingers–yum, but no! I JUST DON’T WANT TO FEEL GUILTY ANYMORE! Hence, this recipe 🙂

Ingredients:

  • a few handfuls shredded green cabbage*
  • a thinly sliced celery spear (mimic the cabbage)
  • a few tbsp Blue cheese dressing
  • 1 chicken breast (boneless skinless)
  • 1-2 tbsp butter
  • 2-3 tbsp hot sauce, or cayenne pepper

* tip: to get the cabbage shredded, use the horizontal slits on your cheese grater.  You can use a mandolin, but I sliced off the tip of my finger the last time I used one. 😦

Method:

  1. Heat you oven to 350 degrees and bake the chicken for 40-50 minutes.
  2. Heat the butter until it melts, add hot sauce or cayenne.
  3. Chop the chicken into bite-sized slices and toss with the hot sauce-butter.
  4. Toss the celery and cabbage with the blue cheese dressing.  Top with the buffalo chicken.

I know I didn’t reinvent the wheel here, but I found a way to eat my favorite food and not feel guilty about it!

Standard

Leave a Reply

