Desserts

The Fuller-Side Bread Pudding

I’m making bread pudding tonight for friends.  I’m using this sauce recipe with my great grandmother’s bread pudding recipe.  When I called my grandma to ask her about making bread pudding, she said, “Mother always used any stale bread on hand, soak it in milk, whisk a few eggs with cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla, 80 or so strokes, pour it over over the bread, put it in a greased dish, and bake at 350 for 40 minutes.” Ok, I’ll just eyeball it…? So I referenced 3 different cookbooks to see about measurements—what a mistake!  Some say 3 cups bread with 3 cups milk and 3 eggs, others say 6 cups bread with 2 cups milk and 4 eggs, still others say something different.  This is what I’ve come up with.  For the sake of ease, I’m re-blogging the sauce recipe here.

Ingredients

Bread Pudding:

  • ~4 cups whole milk
  • 1/3 – 1/2  cup brown sugar
  • 7  eggs
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • ~9 cups dried bread, torn into pieces
  • 1 cup golden raisins, chopped (optional)

Sauce:

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1/3 cup granulated white sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. flour

Method

Bread Pudding:

  1. Butter a 9 x 13 inch casserole dish.
  2. Soak the bread in the milk for about 15 minutes.
  3. Whisk the eggs, vanilla, and spices together. Count 80-100 strokes. You can add a few tbsp of milk too, I did.  Whisk in the sugar.
  4. Pour over the soaking bread.  Stir lightly with a fork until well blended.
  5. Pour the entire mixture into the casserole dish.  Top with the raisins.
  6. Bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes until golden brown and fluffy.  I baked it in an enamel cast iron casserole pan.
  7. Let rest for 10 minutes before serving.  Serve topped with bread pudding sauce.

Sauce:

  1. Mix everything together and bring to a boil for 3 – 4 minutes, stirring constantly.
  2. Set aside for 5 minutes, then pour on warm bread pudding.

Standard

2 thoughts on “The Fuller-Side Bread Pudding

  1. Kristen says:

    Uh…………………………….FUCKING AMAZING is an understatement…

    I love when I actually get to eat what’s on the blog!!! So exciting!!!

Leave a Reply

