camping, Desserts, Sides

That’s so Granola!

I made granola last week, and at first, I didn’t like it.  But then, I tried it with milk —heaven!  I ran out in one week and now I’m making more.  I got the recipes from here and here— I used a mixture of the two recipes.   My first attempt came out not very sweet (which is what I was going for so WAHOO!)  This recipe is a good way to get in your oatmeal–we eat it in the morning with milk and corn flakes and also in the evening atop vanilla ice cream.  It’s verrry crunchy and doesn’t get soggy easily.

  • 3.5 cups rolled oats
  • 2.5 cups puffed crispy brown rice (don’t use Rice Krispies, use something more crunchy)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1/4 cup honey, maple syrup, or agave
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • chopped walnuts
  • crushed banana chips
  1. Preheat the oven to 325.
  2. Mix the oats, puffed rice, and sugar in a large bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl mix the honey, vanilla, and apple sauce. Stir this into the oats bowl and stir in the walnuts too.
  4. Mix until incorporated.  Spread out the mixture onto an oiled cookie sheet, try to make an even layer.
  5. Bake at 325 on a cookie sheet for 30 minutes.
  6. Turn over the granola ( I cut it in bars as wide as my spatula) and bake for another 15-20 minutes, depending on how thick your granola layer is it may take longer.  I needed to remove the edge pieces and baked the center for 15 minutes longer.  My granola was very baked-looking, it wasn’t light colored but a deep brown sugar color. It wasn’t as hard as I would have liked when it was warm, but as it cooled it hardened up.
  7. Let it cool on the cookie sheet.
  8. Break it up into pieces and mix with banana chips and store it in an airtight container.

What else?

Mix the granola with corn flakes to make granola cereal.  Top plain yogurt with drizzled honey, fresh berries, and chunks of granola.  Top vanilla ice cream with granola (Brian’s favorite dessert of late).  Add more nuts, dried fruit pieces, and m&ms to make trail mix.

Standard

One thought on “That’s so Granola!

  1. Recipe Update: If you want it to be very crunchy, increase the amount of apple sauce. Another variation would be to omit the banana chips and walnuts, then use chopped pecans and use maple syrup instead of honey.

Leave a Reply

